LEGO unveiled its SMART Play system at CES in Las Vegas on January 5, 2026. At its center is the Smart Brick, a sensor-packed brick that lets a build respond to how a child plays, without a screen. The first three Star Wars sets went on sale on March 1.
Six months later, the lineup includes Pokémon, the real price of entry is clear, and the limits are documented. This brief covers what the system does, what it costs in September 2026, and who should buy now versus wait.
Trend Signal
45/100 Steady momentum
- Emerging
- Rising
- Mainstream
- Peaking
- Cooling
Twenty sets across two franchises, but no sales figures yet
LEGO’s U.S. site listed 20 SMART Play products across Star Wars and Pokémon in September 2026, only five of which include a Smart Brick, and LEGO has not disclosed Smart Play sales.
Our editorial reading of the cited data, not a forecast. How it is scored
By the numbers
- $69.99LEGO’s Jan. 2026 U.S. list price for the TIE Fighter, a cheapest Smart Brick setThe LEGO Group
- 5 of 20SMART Play products on LEGO’s U.S. site that include a Smart Brick, by our countThe LEGO Group
- 45 minSmart Brick run time in non-stop play on one charge, per LEGO supportThe LEGO Group
- 2.5 hrsTime LEGO says a full Smart Brick charge takesThe LEGO Group
What the Smart Brick does
According to LEGO, the Smart Brick contains sensors, accelerometers, light sensing and a sound sensor, plus a miniature speaker driven by an onboard synthesizer, all run by a custom chip smaller than a standard LEGO stud. It charges wirelessly, and LEGO says the platform includes more than twenty patented world-firsts.
The brick works with two other pieces. SMART Tags are 2×2 studless tiles, each carrying a unique digital ID that the brick reads, and SMART Minifigures look like ordinary figures but contain a chip. When the brick meets a tag or a smart figure, it reacts with sounds and lights. Several bricks can coordinate over a Bluetooth-based network LEGO calls BrickNet, with no hub required.
No app is needed to play. The LEGO app only adjusts volume and shows the exact battery charge, according to New Elementary’s breakdown of the system. The brick is not user-programmable, and New Elementary described its initial functions as somewhat basic. All the elements work with ordinary LEGO bricks.
What it costs to get started
The key buying fact: the Smart Brick is sold only inside All-in-One sets, which include the brick, a charger and tags. SMART Play compatible sets include tags but no brick, and LEGO says they need a separate Smart Brick to work. On their own, they are ordinary building sets.
LEGO’s U.S. SMART Play page listed 20 products in September 2026, eight Star Wars and twelve Pokémon sets, and five of them are All-in-One. The cheapest ways in are Darth Vader’s TIE Fighter and Training House with Pikachu, which LEGO priced at $69.99 each in its January 5 and June 2, 2026 announcements. The cheapest compatible set on the page, Jigglypuff Concert, carries a $14.99 list price from the June 2 announcement.
| Set | Theme | U.S. list price | Age | Smart Brick |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Darth Vader’s TIE Fighter (75421) | Star Wars | $69.99 | 8+ | Included |
| Training House with Pikachu (72164) | Pokémon | $69.99 | 6+ | Included |
| Luke’s Red Five X-Wing (75423) | Star Wars | $89.99 | 6+ | Included |
| Charizard vs. Jolteon Ultimate Battle (72167) | Pokémon | $119.99 | 8+ | Included (two) |
| Throne Room Duel & A-Wing (75427) | Star Wars | $159.99 | 9+ | Included (two) |
| Jigglypuff Concert (72159) | Pokémon | $14.99 | 7+ | Not included |
Budget for one All-in-One set first; compatible sets only add value once you own a brick.
The limits to know before you buy
Battery life is short by design. LEGO says the brick lasts about 45 minutes of non-stop play, takes about 2.5 hours to charge fully, and goes to sleep after three minutes without use. If it sits unused for more than 13 hours it needs the charger to wake up, and LEGO recommends leaving it on the charger between sessions.
The battery is sealed. BGR, citing a teardown, reported that the battery can’t be replaced by users. That matters for a toy that may be handed down: when the cell wears out, so do the brick’s interactive features, although the rest of the set remains ordinary LEGO.
Some of the hardware is waiting on software. BGR, citing LEGO’s comments to The Verge, reported that all the expected sensors are onboard but that some are not enabled in the first sets, and a LEGO sound designer said future products will have more sensors enabled from the start. BGR listed color detection, NFC, a gyroscope and an accelerometer as active.
How the launch is going
LEGO has not reported Smart Play sales. Its first-half 2026 results, published August 25, showed revenue up 21% to DKK 41.9 billion and consumer sales up 22%, and named Speed Champions, Botanicals, Technic, Icons and Star Wars as bestselling themes. On SMART Play, the report said only that it has so far featured in LEGO Star Wars and LEGO Pokémon.
The expansion is the clearest sign of commitment. LEGO announced twelve Pokémon SMART Play sets on June 2, 2026, priced from $14.99 to $119.99, and released them August 1; two of the twelve include a Smart Brick. The wider category is healthy, too: Circana measured U.S. building set sales up 22% in the first half of 2026.
LEGO has also said standard Star Wars sets will keep being made without the technology, according to New Elementary, so buyers who don’t want electronics are not being pushed into them. We read the platform as early: a real product, a small lineup and no public sales data.
Who should buy now and who should wait
Buy now if you have a child in the 6-to-10 range who already loves Star Wars or Pokémon and plays with builds rather than shelving them. Start with one All-in-One set; the TIE Fighter or Pikachu Training House, each listed by LEGO at $69.99, gets you the brick and charger, and compatible sets can be added later.
Wait if you want to program the brick, if you mainly build display models, or if the child’s interests lie outside the two current franchises. LEGO has said the technology will appear in other themes later but has not named them, according to New Elementary’s January coverage.
What to watch next
- LEGO’s full-year 2026 results, for a first disclosure of Smart Play sales or reach.
- Whether LEGO names a third SMART Play theme or sells the Smart Brick on its own, which would lower the cost of entry.
- Updates that switch on the Smart Brick’s dormant sensors in sets already sold.
Where to start
Paid links: we earn a commission if you buy through the buttons below, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Smart Play product types compared
| Product type | Good fit for | Where to look |
|---|---|---|
| SMART Play All-in-One building set | Fits first-time Smart Play buyers | See listings on AmazonOpens Amazon search results, not one listing: check the model on the product page. |
| SMART Play compatible add-on set | Fits families who own a Smart Brick | See listings on AmazonOpens Amazon search results, not one listing: check the model on the product page. |
| Building brick storage organizer | Fits keeping tags and figures together | See listings on AmazonOpens Amazon search results, not one listing: check the model on the product page. |
Product types that fit the trend described above, not tested models. Check the exact listing before you buy. How we pick them.
SMART Play All-in-One building set
Where to look: Amazon
The only way to get a Smart Brick. LEGO set a $69.99 list price for two of the All-in-One sets; check the set’s age rating against the child, since they run from 6+ to 9+.
- Includes brick, charger and tags
- No app or screen needed
- About 45 minutes per charge
- Battery is not replaceable
SMART Play compatible add-on set
Where to look: Amazon
Worth it only after you own a brick. Read the listing carefully: compatible sets include tags but no Smart Brick.
- Lower list prices than All-in-One sets
- Adds tags and new builds
- Does nothing interactive alone
- Easy to buy by mistake
Building brick storage organizer
Where to look: Amazon
Smart Tags and Smart Minifigures are small and look like ordinary parts. A divided box keeps them from vanishing into the general brick bin.
- Keeps tags and smart figures findable
- Useful for any LEGO collection
- Adds cost to a pricey system
- Compartments may not suit large builds
More: Collectibles and Toys trends and how the Trend Signal is scored.
Sources
- LEGO SMART Play announcement at CES — The LEGO Group
- LEGO SMART Play sets, U.S. set list — LEGO.com
- How long does the SMART Brick battery last? — LEGO Customer Service
- LEGO Pokémon SMART Play sets announcement — The LEGO Group
- LEGO Group revenue up 21%, operating profit up 22% in H1 2026 — The LEGO Group
- LEGO SMART Play and SMART Brick revealed at CES — New Elementary
- Lego Smart Bricks Have Major Limitations Buyers Should Know About — BGR
- U.S. Toy Industry Posts Strongest First Half in Six Years — Circana
Questions readers ask
Do all LEGO SMART Play sets include a Smart Brick?
No. Only All-in-One sets include the brick and charger. As of September 2026, five of the 20 SMART Play products on LEGO’s U.S. site were All-in-One; compatible sets need a brick from one of them.
How long does the LEGO Smart Brick battery last?
LEGO says about 45 minutes of non-stop play per charge, and a full charge takes about 2.5 hours. The brick sleeps after three minutes of inactivity and needs the charger to wake up after 13 hours unused.
Can you replace the Smart Brick battery?
No. BGR reported, citing a teardown, that the battery can’t be replaced by users.
Does the Smart Brick need an app or a screen?
No. LEGO describes SMART Play as screen-free. The app is optional and is used to adjust volume and check the battery, according to New Elementary.
Which LEGO themes use Smart Play?
As of September 2026, LEGO Star Wars, launched March 1, 2026, and LEGO Pokémon, launched August 1, 2026.
